The UK Government’s Global Scholarships Program

The UK Government's Global Scholarships Program


As a foreign student, expenses for education and daily living can accumulate rapidly. Luckily, various UK Government’s Global scholarships Program are provided by the governments throughout the United Kingdom to qualifying students.

These scholarships encompass both undergraduate and graduate studies, although certain ones might have restrictions based on academic stage, the student’s country of origin, or the selected course. Continue reading for details regarding criteria, applying procedures, and important deadlines.

Here Are Some Tips To Consider Prior To Submitting Your Application

The UK Council for International Student Affairs (UKCISA) advises students to verify their eligibility for Government Student Support prior to seeking scholarships. Various funds are accessible in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales.

Numerous scholarships mandate proof of acceptance at a UK university before granting awards. It’s suggested to establish a timeline for both scholarship and course application deadlines. This schedule can assist students in determining when to commence application preparations and which scholarships to focus on first.

The UK Government’s Global Scholarships Program

Scholarships And Fellowships Offered By Chevening

  • Scholarship Amount: Varies; includes tuition fees for one year, as well as return flights and lodging expenses.
  • Qualifying Destinations in the UK: England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales.
  • Eligible Applicant Countries: Students from more than 160 nations are eligible to apply. Refer to the comprehensive list.
  • Chevening is a scholarship and fellowship initiative aimed at nurturing future leaders on a global scale. Selection of recipients is carried out by British embassies and high commissions worldwide.

The Chevening Scholarship

The Chevening Scholarship is available for students pursuing a one-year master’s degree program who exhibit strong leadership qualities. Candidates are required to possess a minimum of two years of professional experience prior to their application.

The Chevening Fellowship

The Chevening Fellowship seeks mid-career professionals who typically hold leadership roles and possess a postgraduate qualification or equivalent experience. Participants engage in research, placements, or customized short courses at UK universities. Upon completion, alumni can maintain communication with UK embassies and high commissions, fostering an international network. Specific eligibility criteria differ, thus consulting the program details is recommended.

Are you a suitable candidate for the Chevening program? Keep in mind that all Chevening recipients are required to go back to their home country for a two-year period following the completion of the scholarship. The aim is to encourage the promotion of change and leadership in their homeland.

Scholarships And Fellowship By Commonwealth

  • Scholarship Funding: Variable; covers tuition fees for one year, along with travel expenses and a stipend for living expenses.
  • Qualifying Locations in the UK: England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales.
  • Eligible Applicant Countries: Applicants must be citizens or permanent residents of Commonwealth nations.

Annually, approximately 800 students from Commonwealth nations are awarded Commonwealth Scholarships and Fellowships. These scholarships aim to support promising future leaders and innovators who lack the means to pursue studies in the UK.

A variety of scholarships are offered for master’s and PhD programs, each with its own set of criteria. All candidates must have attained an undergraduate honours degree with at least a 2:1 classification (roughly equivalent to a B grade, 3.0 GPA, or 80 from a reputable international institution).

The scholarships, funded by the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office, are available under six development themes. These encompass various areas such as science and technology for advancement and the promotion of global well-being.

Although there are no specific constraints on the fields of study for students, priority is given to applicants whose studies closely match the criteria set by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission.

The GWPS Program

Scholarship funding of up to £10,000 is available through the Global Wales Postgraduate Scholarship (GWPS) specifically for students pursuing full-time master’s level studies in Wales. Eligible applicants from the European Union, India, Vietnam, and the United States can apply.

The scholarship covers tuition fees and is applicable to programs at universities such as Aberystwyth University, Bangor University, University of Wales Trinity St David, and Wrexham Glyndwr University.

Applicants must first secure admission to an eligible postgraduate program before applying for the scholarship. It is essential to include the university application number in the scholarship application, as applications lacking valid numbers will not be considered.

The GREAT Scholarships

GREAT Scholarships offer a minimum of £10,000 in financial support towards tuition fees for postgraduate studies lasting one year. These scholarships are available in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales.

Eligible applicants hail from Bangladesh, Brunei, China, Egypt, Ghana, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Nepal, Nigeria, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Turkey, and Vietnam. The funding is a collaboration between the UK government’s GREAT Britain campaign, the British Council, and participating UK educational institutions. Each academic year, most of these countries provide between five to eight scholarships.

Scholarships For Justice And Law By The Great

Scholarships for Justice and Law through the GREAT program offer a minimum of £10,000 towards tuition fees. These scholarships are open to applicants from China, Ghana, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan, and Thailand, who are planning to pursue a one-year postgraduate course in justice and law related subjects at any of the 30 participating universities across England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales.

The Saltire Scholarship

The Scotland’s Saltire Scholarships provide financial assistance of £8,000 to eligible international students pursuing full-time master’s programs at Scottish universities. Up to 50 students from Canada, China (including Hong Kong), India, Japan, Pakistan, and the United States are awarded this scholarship annually.

Additionally, starting from 2021, £4,000 is offered to support study at Scottish colleges at the Higher National level, specifically for EU and European Economic Area-based students. These scholarships are open to applicants studying fields such as healthcare and medical sciences, science, technology, creative industries, and renewable and clean energy.

The Hornby Trust Scholarship

The A.S. Hornby Educational Trust, founded in 1961, aims to advance the education of English as a second language. It provides scholarships for educators outside the UK to pursue a Master’s degree in TESOL at the University of Warwick. Eligibility for this scholarship extends to applicants from countries listed on the DAC list.


The United Kingdom stands out as a top choice among global students, though it’s known for its hefty expenses. Its educational excellence often justifies these costs as worthwhile investments for many. However, some find the financial burden of studying overseas daunting, which is where the UK Government’s Global scholarships program play a crucial role.

Apply to The Erasmus Mundus Scholarships

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *